BOARD OF ABATEMENT MEETING & BOARD OF CIVIL AUTHORITY MEETING June 13, 2017

| Present: | Casey Mathieu Greg Barrows Dave Tilton Lynn Bursell Allison Weinhagen | Caroline Brown Bob Bancroft Carol Howrigan Christian Frenette Nanette Rogers |
|----------|---|--|
| Guests: | David Huffman Georgette Huffman | Marge McIntosh |

The Board of Abatement met on Tuesday, June 13, 2017 at 7:00 p.m. at the Town Office.

Bob Bancroft nominated Casey Mathieu as Chair, seconded by Christian Frenette. Motion passed: 10-0.

DAVID & GEORGETTE HUFFMAN – TAX ABATEMENT

David and Georgette Huffman were present to discuss their request to abate penalty and interest on the May 15th installment. Mr. Huffman mailed the property taxes for Westford and Underhill on May 13th. After May 15th, they received a letter from the Delinquent Tax Collector advising that their May 15th property taxes were delinquent. Mr. Huffman found the check he wrote for the taxes and therefore mailed an empty envelope. If the Town had contacted him when the empty envelope was received, he would have come to the office and remit payment. Mr. and Mrs. Huffman stated that they moved to town in 1972 and have never been late on their taxes.

Nanette does not recall receiving an empty envelope. She consulted with other staff that open the mail and process tax payments (Sue, MJ and Greg). None of them recall receiving an empty envelope. Nanette advised that if anyone had, the Huffmans would have been notified. When asked if the Town Office has a policy to that effect, Nanette advised no.

The Huffmans have since paid their May 15th tax installment, including a penalty in the amount of \$161.36 and interest in the amount of \$20.17.

The Board advised the Huffmans will receive a written decision in the near future.

ADDITIONS, DELETIONS AND CHALLENGES TO CHECKLIST

The Town Clerk supplied a list for the Board to review of additions and deletions, as well as voters to send challenge letters to.

Additions Aiken, Lance Antonucci, Frank Baker, Alyssa Battig, Julianna Billings, Cecelia

Bisson, David Bradford, Ryan Bundy-Liberty, Katelyne Charland, Megan Coulombe, Caitlin Board of Abatement & Civil Authority Meeting June 13, 2017 Page 2

Crary, Logan Doran, Jennifer Emilo, Michael Francis, Jennifer Gehlbach, Charlene Geno, Linda Guidry, Mia Hatin, III, Richard Howard, Dawson Hunt, Willem Lovejoy, Nicholas Lussier, Alexis Mahoney, Kevin

Deletions

Adams, Benjamin Adams, Henry Adams, Susan Ahokas, Graham Aspden, Donald Aspden, Lucinda Baczewski, Kayla Bayus, Brad Bayus, Megan Bean, Amy Brown. Bobbi-Jo Corson, Phillip Corson, Stella Cross, Elliott Durkin, April Edson, Matthew Edson. Mia Elmore, Michael Fisher, Todd Fitzgerald, Ryan Gauthier, Mary Goodrich, Doreen Goodrich, Stephen Hathaway, Hayley Irish, Colleen Irish, Pauline

<u>Challenges</u> Bailey, Katherine Bailey, Thomas Carruthers, Douglas Fay, Hillary McCarthy, Joseph McCarthy, Julie McLeod, Darrow Mead, Betty Morin, Darrell Powell, Randall Reed, James Smith, Heather L. Sterling, Kevin Trask, Lily White, Chloe

Jacobsen, Philip Keefe, Billy Joe Keefe, Julie Keys, Joshua Keys, Katina Lamphere, Bernadette Larson, Lesley Lichtenstein, Sara Luce, James Luisi, Michael Meltzer, Jason Mongeon, Cathy Powers, Kelsi Rabtov, Aaron Rabtoy, Heidi Raner, Jessica Revnolds. Doris Schoolcraft, Garry Schoolcraft, Vera Shaw, Naomi Sink, James Snyder, Travis Staab, Carly West. William White, Staci Wilford, Sherval

Howard, Betty Howard, Duane Palker, Justin

Bob Bancroft made a motion to approve the additions, deletions and challenges as presented by the Town Clerk, seconded by Dave Tilton. Motion passed: 10-0.

Board of Abatement & Civil Authority Meeting June 13, 2017 Page 3

MINUTES

Bob Bancroft made a motion to approve the January 19, 2017 minutes as written, seconded by Casey Mathieu. Motion passed: 10-0.

Bob Bancroft made a motion to approve the March 1, 2017 minutes as written, seconded by Carol Howrigan. Motion passed: 10-0.

DELIBERATIVE SESSION

The Board entered deliberative session at 7:09 p.m. The Board exited deliberative session at 7:23 p.m.

Carol Howrigan made a motion to deny the abatement request submitted by David and Georgette Huffman based on the fact that the reason did not fit the statutory reasons a Board may grant an abatement, seconded by Bob Bancroft. Motion passed: 6-2. Nanette and Greg abstained from the vote.

ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 7:24 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Casey Mathieu, Chair Board of Abatement/Civil Authority

Nanette Rogers Town Clerk