## BOARD OF CIVIL AUTHORITY February 10, 2022 Minutes

Present: Caroline Brown Becky Roy

Bill Cleary Andrea Letorney
Lee McClenny Martha Heath
Dave Baczewski Nanette Rogers

Lynn Bursell

Guests: None

The Board of Civil Authority met on Thursday, February 10, 2022 at 5:15 p.m. The meeting was held in person and via Zoom.

Becky Roy made a motion to nominate Caroline Brown as Chair, seconded by Martha Heath. Motion passed: 9-0.

#### **CHANGES TO THE AGENDA**

There were no changes.

### **HOUSE DISTRICT CHITTENDEN 8-3 NEW MAP**

The Vermont Legislative Council sent out an email on January 20, 2022 to all Vermont towns to advise of revised apportionment district maps. The deadline to submit comments to the House Committee on Government Operations is February 15, 2022. Upon review of the map for Chittenden 8-3, of which Westford is part of, the proposed district includes larger segments of Essex and Milton than previously proposed, which results in the district going from a single member district to a two member district.

The Board had mixed emotions regarding the changes. One thought was that although all of Westford remains intact in one district, a significant number of people from Milton and Essex are also in the district. Some board members were concerned about this because they feel Westford may not be represented well. On the flip side, it was pointed out that Westford has a chance to send a Westford resident to fill one of two seats to represent the district if approved as drafted.

It was pointed out that unless the Board has clear direction for the House Committee on Government Operations for changes, such as identifying new boundaries for the district, there isn't much feedback to give. A simple "we don't want to be paired with Milton because we feel Westford is different" is not a strong enough argument. A couple of board members felt that the changes were calculated to give advantage to one political party over another. It was noted that the districts need to be finalized soon because candidates will need to submit petitions in a few months. The entire board agreed that keeping Westford intact is what is best for Westford.

Andrea Letorney made a motion to support the proposed Chittenden 8-3 district map released January 20, 2022 as presented, seconded by Martha Heath. Motion passed: 7 yes, 1 no, 1 abstention.

#### **MINUTES**

Bill Cleary made a motion to approve the January 27, 2022 minutes as written, seconded by Lee McClenny. Motion passed: 9-0.

### ADDITIONS, DELETIONS AND CHALLENGES TO CHECKLIST

The Town Clerk supplied a list for the Board to review of additions and deletions, as well as voters to send challenge letters to.

## **Additions**

Arena, Jonathan C.
Bennett, Emilie Nicole
Bhattarai, Hem
Brochu, Stephen J.
Chamberlin, Luke D.
Davis, Priscilla E.
Delibac, Bruce E.
Demers, Colin Thomas

Denison, Aran
Denova, Judith M.
Dewey, Samuel R.
Dieter, Mary Jane
Duncan, Katherine Ann
Fredette, Colleen R.
Gautam, Sabitra
Holzscheiter, Laura R.
Lunn, Sarah K.

#### **Deletions**

Baczewski, Kayla
Barrette, Lucille M.
Barrette, Robin L.
Boomhower, Kim B.
Casey, Dani A.
Dandrea, Kelsey L.
Dawson, Audrey Alyse
Dubie, Patrick Clement
Hallman, Eugene G.
Hallman, Sharon P.
Hallman, Benjamin P.
Holzscheiter, Helen F.
Ketcham, Deborah F.

# Challenges

Bricknell-Vaughan, Denise Elder, Rose Gilbeau, Patricia Guy, Cynthia Guy, Nathaniel Menard, Kaila Menard, Kate Menard, Kevin Provost, Karen Menard, Kaila Rae Moore, Orah Nichols, Samuel H. Paquette, Shantel Paradis, Erynne J. Poquerusse, Jessie D. Rissman, Amber Smith, Karolina

Sopronyi Grasso, Kristin Taliaferro, Margaret C. Wagner, Amanda L.

Wamsganz, Alexander James

Wasilewski, Austin C. Watters, Chanon M. Wescott, Allyson M. Whitham, Hannah Louise Woods, Kirstin Rose

Lamothe, Sandy J.
Leblanc, Alan R.
Mahoney, James M.
Mahoney, Stacey L.
McCoy, Peter D.
Provost, Roland
Reiner, Kevin R.
Stetson, III, Ralph T.
Tillman, Brian K.
Tuure. Marv

Tuure, Daniel Frederick Valyou, Heather J.

Reynolds, Connie Reynolds, Douglas Reynolds, James Reynolds, Taylor Theriault, Jamie Vaughan, Jared Violette, Kristen Violette, Todd

Becky Roy made a motion to approve the lists as presented, seconded by Lynn Bursell. Motion passed: 9-0.

Board of Civil Authority February 10, 2022

# **ADJOURN**

The meeting adjourned at 5:45 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Caroline Brown, Chair Board of Civil Authority

Nanette Rogers Town Clerk